Birthday Treats

Birthday Treats

My daughter recently had a birthday. We do a “pre-party” here for the family, and a “real deal” party with the friends. As per my daughter’s wishes, I made cupcakes for the pre-party.

lea and her cupcakes

yellow cupcake

For the kids party I was inspired and decided to make a pinata cake. She did ask for a pinata, so I figured this was a perfect opportunity to try it out.  Although it can look a little intimidating, I have to admit, it was very simple and quite the hit with the party-go’ers. Although watch out, everyone had their paws in the cake once it was opened. Foreseeing this, I also brought cupcakes for everyone.

I didn’t have enough batter to bake the cake in a large enough bowl so I used two Anchor glass bowls like these.

pinata cake cake

Once cooled, I sliced them in half and scooped out the middle (if you are motivated, this extra cake can be mixed with frosting, rolled into balls, and dipped in chocolate to make cake pops, or the like).

pinata cake sliced

I then added the pinata filling to both the bottom and top sections.

pinata cake filled top

pinata cake filled bottom

Added frosting along the edge to glue the two sections together, and then proceeded to frost the entire cake and decorate it.

pinata cake stacked

pinata cake being frosted

lea's pinata cake

It’s that easy.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

